Bank of Lithuania
  • 3277_imp_img_6878_iliustr.jpg
1 of 1

A numismatic coinset of Republic of Lithuania circulation coins with a commemorative sign dedicated to Lithuania’s national currency system of the 2012 issue was issued today.

“This year we commemorate the 20th anniversary of the national currency system of Lithuania which regained its independence, as on 1 October 1992 the talonas note became its provisional currency unit. The commemorative sign of the new coinset is a replica of one of the talonas notes of the time, struck of metal,” Audrius Misevičius, Member of the Board of the Bank of Lithuania, Chairman of the Currency Design and Production Commission said.

Images of talonas notes are used to illustrate the coin case, and a diminished currency unit of 1 talonas note has been transferred to the commemorative sign.    Talonas, as legal tender, was used for a short while – until the Lithuanian currency under the historical name of litas was issued on 25 June 1993.

The Bank of Lithuania previously issued seven numismatic coinsets:  in 1991, 2000, 2003, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011. A commemorative sign first appeared in the 2010 coinset and was dedicated to the 20th anniversary of restoration of Lithuania's Independence. The commemorative sign of the numismatic coinset of the circulation coins of the 2011 issue reminds of the fatal-to-Lithuania events of 13 January 1991 and of the following recognition of our State in the world.

The coinset dedicated to Lithuania’s national currency system consists of 10, 20, 50 centas and 1, 2, 5 litas denomination circulation coins and the commemorative sign placed among them. Their planes and relief surface are brilliant (BU). The coins and the sign were struck by the UAB Lithuanian Mint. The mintage of the coinset is 4 000 pieces.

The numismatic coinset, the price of which is LTL 40, can be obtained at the cash offices of the Bank of Lithuania in Vilnius (Totorių g. 2/8), Kaunas (Maironio g. 25) and Klaipėda (Naujoji Uosto g. 16).