Bank of Lithuania
May 18

Gediminas Šimkus, Chairman of the Board of the Bank of Lithuania and Asta Kuniyoshi, Deputy Chair of the Board will be participating in the non-monetary policy meeting of the ECB Governing Council.

The Governing Council is the main decision-making body of the ECB. It consists of the six members of the Executive Board, plus the governors of the national central banks of the 19 euro area countries. The Chairman of the Board of the Bank of Lithuania has been member of the ECB Governing Council since 1 January 2015.

The Governing Council assesses economic and monetary developments and takes its monetary policy decisions every six weeks. At the other meetings, the Council discusses mainly issues related to other tasks and responsibilities of the ECB and the Eurosystem. To ensure the separation of the ECB’s monetary policy and other tasks from its supervisory responsibilities, separate meetings of the Governing Council are held.

Last update: 18-05-2022