Bank of Lithuania

Circulation euro coins

Currently, circulation euro coins are used in eight denominations: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and 50 cent, €1 and €2.

They have a common and a national side. The national side indicates the issuing country. Even though the national sides of euro coins differ, all euro coins are legal tender anywhere in the euro area.

Lithuanian euro coins

The common side of euro coins features a geographical depiction of the European Union. The national side of each country’s euro coins uses elements and symbols characteristic of that country. Euro coins issued by Lithuania bear the Vytis, the coat of arms of the Republic of Lithuania.

2015, 2017 2015 2015 2015, 2017
2015, 2017 2015 2015, 2017 2015, 2016, 2017

Coins of other euro area countries that are legal tender in the Republic of Lithuania

Euro coin security features

Euro coins have high-security, machine-readable characteristics. They can be used in vending machines throughout the euro area – no matter where they were issued.

  • Sophisticated bi-metal and sandwich technologies have been incorporated into the €1 and €2 coins.
  • The composition of the 10, 20 and 50 cent coins is a unique alloy (Nordic gold), which is difficult to melt and is used exclusively for coins.

Lettering around the edge of the €2 coin and the use of a unique metal composition for the 10, 20 and 50 cent coins make them difficult to counterfeit.

Last update: 20-07-2018