Bank of Lithuania

The governing body of the Bank of Lithuania is its Board, which determines the bank's organisational structure, approves its mission, vision and strategic directions, as well as tackles other pressing issues. Activities at the Bank of Lithuania are organised by the Chair of the Board.

Three services, namely the Banking Service, the Economics and Financial Stability Service, and the Supervision Service, and two departments, namely the Cash Department, and the Market Infrastructure Department, were set up to carry out the core functions of a central bank. Various departments and divisions work under the umbrella of these services and departments. The responsibility for maintenance and other important activities lies with the Organisation Service and other autonomous departments and divisions.

The main headquarters of the bank are located in the heart of Vilnius, the capital city; other units are located at Žirmūnų g. (Vilnius) and Maironio g. (Kaunas). The organisation employs approximately 600 members of staff.

The Constitution of the Republic of Lithuania stipulates that the Bank of Lithuania belongs, by the right of ownership, to the State of Lithuania. It was established by the Seimas, to which the Bank of Lithuania reports on its activities.

The Bank of Lithuania has the right to establish branches, representative offices, institutions and enterprises, to be a shareholder or stakeholder in other institutions and enterprises in the Republic of Lithuania and foreign states, provided this is needed to carry out its functions. The Bank of Lithuania implements the rights and obligations of the sole shareholder of the Lithuanian Mint – the Republic of Lithuania.  

Last update: 07-01-2020