The monetary unit of the Republic of Lithuania —as of 1 January 2015, the euro, comprised of 100 cents.

Euro circulation coins

Currently, circulation euro coins in eight denominations are used (1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and 50 cents, 1 and 2 euro). Circulation coins have a common European side and a unique national side.

On the common side of the 5, 2, and 1 cent euro coins, Europe is depicted on the globe together with Africa and Asia.

The designs of the common side for the 2 and 1 euro, 50, 20 and 10 cent coins are of two variations: the first version depicts the European Union (EU) prior to its expansion on 1 May 2004, while the second — a geographical depiction of Europe (as of 1 December 2007). The national side helps recognise the country that issued the euro. Each country’s euro’s national side uses elements characteristic of the country, and is surrounded by the 12 EU stars. Although one (national) side may be different, all euro coins are legal tender in the whole euro area. The euro coins issued by Lithuania depict the symbol of Vytis from our state’s coat of arms.

There may be some 2 euro coins with an unusual national side, and it likely that they are commemorative coins. 2  euro commemorative coins are dedicated only to the commemoration of important national and European things.

Coins in the large denominations — 1 and 2 euro — are dual-coloured (silver and gold coloured). Medium-denomination coins — 10, 20 and 50 cent — are gold-coloured, while the small-denomination coins — 1, 2, and 5 cent — are copper coloured.


Updated 01/01/2015